WNBA Writing Contest 2016

2016_writing_contestWNBA Fifth Annual Writing Contest

Now accepting submissions through February 15, 2017 [Please note the new deadline]
A dynamic organization of women and men in all fields of the literary world, The Women’s National Book Association is accepting submissions for its Annual Writing Contest.

After nearly 100 years celebrating published authors, extraordinary book women and honoring independent bookstores, the WNBA is celebrating emerging writers. Be a part of history!

Fiction: 3,000 word maximum length, no theme required

Creative Nonfiction/ Memoir: 2,500 word maximum

Poetry: 3-5 pages of poetry 


Submission Fee: $20/ Non-Members,  $15/ WNBA Members

Submit your work here 
Click here to learn more about the WNBA.

First place winners receive $250.00. There will be four awards in each category, 1, 2, 3, and Honorable Mention.

All four winners will be published in a special Contest Edition of the WNBA’s National Newsletter, “The Bookwoman.”
Winners announced May 1, 2017. All winners to be posted on the Women’s National Book Association website.



Brenda Knight

Brenda Knight began her career at HarperCollins, working with luminaries Marianne Williamson, Huston Smith and Paolo Coelho. Knight served as publisher of Cleis Press and was awarded IndieFab’s Publisher of the Year in 2014. Knight is the author of Wild Women and Books, Be a Good in the World, and Women of the Beat Generation, which won an American Book Award. Publishing Consultant to Mango Media, she also serves as President of the Women’s National Book Association, San Francisco Chapter.


Ellen Urbani

Ellen Urbani is the author of the novel Landfall, a Women’s National Book Association Great Group Reads selection set in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Her work has been profiled in the Oscar-qualified short documentary film Paint Me a Future. A Southern expat now residing in Oregon, her pets will always be dawgs and her truest allegiance will always reside with the Crimson Tide.

Linda Joy Myers

Linda Joy Myers

Linda Joy Myers is president and founder of the National Association of Memoir Writers. Her memoir Don’t Call Me Mother—A Daughter’s Journey from Abandonment to Forgiveness was a finalist in the ForeWord Book of the Year Award, a finalist in the IndieExcellence Awards, and won the BAIPA Gold Medal award.Linda offers workshops internationally, and helps people capture their stories through coaching, editing, and online workshops.

Flyer with all the information: 2016 WNBA Writing Contest flyer (revised with new deadline)

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.