2013 WNBA Writing Contest

Writing-Contest-Logo2013 Women’s National Book Association Writing Contest

Online Submission Deadline:
Extended to December 15, 2013


$250 cash prize and publication in the Bookwoman, the official publication of the Women’s National Book Association, with 10 chapters nationwide. Contest winners will be announced March 2014.

  • Online submissions only
  • Unpublished work only
  • Fiction: 2,500 word limit – short fiction only; no novel excerpts or memoirs
  • Poetry: 3-5 pages maximum
  • Questions? Email Contest Chairperson: joan@joangelfand.com

Your entry must be uploaded without your name, address, or contact information on the actual document. Your contact information will be collected on a separate form when you submit your entry. Applicants must be 18 years of age or older. You may submit more than one entry, however, each one must be separately submitted and paid. Acceptable formats are: Word Document 2007, Word Document 2003 or earlier version, RTF (Rich Text Format).


Fiction: Meg Waite Clayton

Poetry: Molly Peacock


Women’s National Book Association Members: $15 per entry

Non-Members: $20 per entry

Click to submit your entry online

Thank you for your submissions! Proceeds from the contest go to support WNBA literacy efforts, programs, scholarships and professional development. Over 90 years old, the Women’s National Book Association is a venerated organization of women and men across the broad spectrum of writing and publishing. Our membership includes Editors, Publishers, Literary Agents, Professors, Academics, Librarians, Authors, Book Marketers and many others involved in the world of books.